Chinatown – “a state of mind”

On Saturday, I organized a showing of Chinatown, the Roman Polanski movie from 1974. I’m trying to get people interested in forming a local film club as there is precious little worth going to see at the movies here.

Film Noir has been a favorite of mine for as long as I can remember, since I first read the books of Dashiell Hammett and, especially, Raymond Chandler. I remember going to see the movie in England when it first came out. I didn’t like the ending. I think I was just too young (25ish). Now I understand that it was the only ending possible.

Polanski’s homage may actually be the best film ever made in the genre.

From the late 60s and through the 70s, Hollywood made a slew of great movies, many of which remain among my all-time favorites.

This entry was posted in Film. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chinatown – “a state of mind”

  1. Hi Peter:

    The idea of a movie or film club is great. I agree with you that the sixties and seventies was the golden age of movies.

    As you know, “Lawrence of Arabia” is my preferred movie, but I also enjoyed “Zorba The Greek” immensely. This movie was based on a Kazantzakis novel with the same title. In fact, all of Nikos Kazantzakis books are a must for any serious reader.

    Would you like to comment on this movie? I could do it, but I lack your writing talents.

    Regards,

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

