New smoking laws

As a former smoker, I find the new laws in Britain quite draconian. This morning I read this item on Sky News.

“Gordon Williams of Llanafan, west Wales, was on a shopping trip when he was pulled over by council officials carrying out vehicle safety checks.  The 58-year-old was handed a £30 on-the-spot fine under new anti-smoking laws that ban lighting-up in the work place. A furious Mr Williams has hit out at the fine, claiming his van is a private vehicle and not his place of work. “I am dumb-founded. The van is only insured for private use. It’s not my place of work – I decorate houses not vans,” he said. “I don’t use it for work so I can’t see how they can do me for smoking in the workplace.” He added: “I was just having a cigarette and causing no bother to anyone else. But this is like Big Brother is watching you.””

This entry was posted in Odds and Ends. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New smoking laws

  1. Hi Peter:

    I’m glad you’re writing from the U.K. Those guys are tough on smoking. I think it’s a good thing for regular smokers to avoid lung cancer.

    Enjoy your stay in London.

    Omar.-

Leave a Reply

