Old photos of Dad’s family are in short supply. Two of my aunts came to visit and brought a few. More are in the pipeline.

During their visit, my aunts Jean and Audrey told me about the four years they spent as evacuees from London during World War II. Their story is straight out of Charles Dickens: unwanted children who had to endure all sorts of hardship, hunger, humiliation and attempted sexual abuse. More about that in a subsequent post.

This first photo is of Jean’s wedding. It is a photocopy that I scanned, so the quality is poor. It is also a large photo, so it’s hard to make out the detail. To the right of Jean is bridesmaid and younger sister Margaret. Audrey is next, followed (I think) by sister Joyce, then my grandmother and uncle Bonny (Margaret’s twin). Fourth from the left in the photo is another aunt, Phyllis. Dad is in the middle, at the back, and Mum is between Margaret and Audrey.

This a picture of Jean some years later with my cousin Pauline (we were born just a few months apart).

This is a picture of Pauline with her baby son Danny. This is how I remembered Pauline, whom I hadn’t seen for many years. She is pictured with her sister Tina and brother Martin (who danced a salsa with Xinia here at the house a few years ago). The photo captures the time perfectly.

This is a photo of Pauline with her son and daughter (who is now a mum herself).

This is a photo of the wedding of my only uncle (Gerald). Nanny Leaver is next to him. Dad is to her left. In front of him are some of my cousins. Aunt Margaret (Gerald’s twin) is on the right.

This is Dad’s sister Phyllis who passed away some years ago.

This is one of aunts Joyce, Jean and Margaret with Nanny Leaver.

This is one of Dad with Jean and Audrey. He visited them after they were evacuated. During the first two years (’39-’41), his was the only family visit they received (they got no letters from home either). It left such an impression, because of the dire circumstances in which they found themselves, that to this day they have a special affection for him.

This is one of Joyce, Jean, Margaret and Nan and some of my cousins.

This is Nan fooling around.

This is jean looking glamorous. Her husband Freddie was an amateur photographer.

This is Audrey’s husband, my uncle Harry, with Jean, Audrey and cousin Pauline. Harry took part in the D-Day landings.

This one is of Margaret, Harry, Audrey, Jean and Pauline. I suspect it was a Boxing Day party.