Down the Yangtze…

A few years ago, my wife and I took a boat trip through Central London. Most foreigners do not realize that the city has a network of canals and even an area nicknamed Little Venice (read about it here). A fair number of people live in houseboats. For centuries, Britain had an extremely poor road system. Consequently, canals were used to transport all manner of goods.

The British Waterways website (go here) website is quite informative. The introduction states that:

“Today, nearly one million Londoners live within a ten minute walk of our waterways and each year more than sixteen million visits are made to them. The Thames may be the centre of attention, but it is the many rivers, canals, reservoirs and docks which make London such a water city. Since they were constructed over 200 years ago, London’s waterways have played an integral part of the economic development and social fabric of the Capital.”

Our canal ride took us to Camden Lock. I believe the large building on the left is a pagoda-style Chinese restaurant (apologies for my poor memory).

This entry was posted in My journey. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Down the Yangtze…

  1. Coco says:

    Hi!
    It is your friend from Canada. I wanted to say that your blog is really interesting. I have to catch up on my reading. So much since the day I read some of your posts…
    I have now three blogs…
    Congrats!

  2. thebarrowboy says:

    Hi, Coco. I hadn’t realized you had three blogs now. I’m in London at the moment – and freezing!! Somehow I don’t think I’d survive Canadian weather!

    I wish I had more time for the blog, I have so much to say.

    Take care,

    Peter

  3. Coco says:

    I will be in France in October, when are you going back?

  4. thebarrowboy says:

    On October 3. I hope you enjoy your visit.

Leave a Reply

