Photos of Stogs from 1966

I was able to scan these photos from an old Olavian magazine. The quality isn’t great but they give a good idea of how the school looked in the 60s.

This is the west wing of the building, where the gym was located (about my least favorite place!)

This is a partial view of the playground.

This is the main hall, ready for lunch.

This is the balcony and the magnificent organ above the hall

This is the beautiful ceiling of the main hall

This is part of the memorial to Old Boys who died in Britain’s many wars.

One of the staircases.

This is the language laboratory, quite an innovation back then.

This entry was posted in My journey, Stogs. Bookmark the permalink.

98 Responses to Photos of Stogs from 1966

  1. Colin Wood says:

    As a ‘C’ stream pupil at Stogs from 1947 to 1952, the photo’s bring back great memories of my days there.
    Dr. R C Carrington was disgusted when I said I was gong to sea and suggested that I was worse than a criminal as they at least waited until they got caught.
    I had a fantastic time in the MN getting my FG Master’s Certificate at 25 and gaining command at the age of 29. I went on to be a Harbourmaster, Senior Australian Government Marine Surveyor and still work occassionly as a private Marine Surveyor.
    My wife is very impressed with the view of the ‘Hall’

  2. thebarrowboy says:

    Hi, Colin. Glad you enjoyed the photos. And thank you for your “memories.” You are certainly not alone in having overcome the “handicap” of going to Stogs back then!

  3. Arthur Wood says:

    I was a pupil at St Olaves from 1955-1961.
    The photos bring the memories flooding back.
    It would be great to meet up with guys from that era. Several names come to mind. John Lawrence, Jim Rees, Gordon Love, John Reid, Bunny Warham, Andrew Crozier, Gilmore Kennedy, Dave Pike. Haven’t seen you guys for several decades. Are any of you out there?
    Some of us are pensioners now.
    Of course its unlikely that any of our teachers are still alive —– Anyone remember “Boggy” our latin teacher and “Soapy” our science teacher. Or the flamboyant “Benny” Hill our English teacher, and of course “Miss?” who took us for speech.
    Contact me Arthur Wood on arthurwood@sky.com

  4. thebarrowboy says:

    Hi, Arthur. It seems you left the year I began. I imagine the “miss” you are referring to was “Fanny” Robinson?

  5. jadedragon1066@aol.com says:

    I remember Boggy and Fanny Robinson. Anybody recall Dodo? Rizla? “Jet ” Harris? – (another mad latin teacher). I left just after the move to Orpington. Carrington was generally referred to as “Oaf” and was as mad as a bag of monkeys. I heard that he was eventually carted away by nice men in white coats.. Is that true?? Sports ground was miles away in Dulwich or if it was snowing, the luxury of Bermondsey Baths was bestowed upon us. Many a crafty woodbine smoked in Dulwich Park when supposed to be on a “cross Country” run – in Dulwich!

    Before leaving, it was decided that 5th form need no longer wear caps, so we escaped one lunch time and cast them off Tower Bridge into the Thames. I hated the place with a passion and swore that I would go and watch it being demolished – but as you probably know, the dismal edifice is still standing and now protected.

    I can still recall the smell of the brewery when the wind was right..

    Meals were passable but we had to serve each other. Crazy.

    Happy days?

    Nothing good that I recall apart from Swinburne doing his “Dr. Phibes” bit on the splendid organ after morning assembly.

    Hope Carrington is rotting, or at least smouldering, in a very warm place!

    Dreadful waste of such formative years.

  6. thebarrowboy says:

    Your memories are spot on. Carrington did not have a happy end, apparently. I was at Orpington for the first year (Jan – Dec 1968).

  7. David Purcell says:

    I certainly remember Boggy, Fanny Robinson, Fanny Weekes, Presswell and Boot Moon. I certainly remember Dodo Chapman, who seemed at least 100 in the mid-sixties. I also remember the smell of the brewery – I ran the London Marathon in 2001 and there is a photo of me running across Tower Bridge with the brewery building clearly visible.

    Does anyone remember the poor student playing the organ at an assembly and getting it wrong (must have been very nervous. In his usual gentle, loving way, Oaf screamed abuse at him and the poor chap walked away with shoulders hunched as Swinburn took over. I have always felt so sorry for that boy.

    You are absolutely spot on to say that it was a waste of formative years. I still deeply resent what was done to us over those years. May the bxxtard root in hell!!!

  8. Steve Mann says:

    Oh it all comes flooding back! Yuk.. I remember them well! Dodo was my form master for 4P I think, certainly something P. I believe he was already 100 at birth. His wonky leg was considerably older, possibly Neanderthal.

    I know it was always said that LCC food never hurt anyone, but I recall a weed getting wasted by the delivery lorry when I was in the fourth year, or thereabouts, or am I dreaming? It was actually pretty grim, can almost recall his name.. Funny how we can recall school days, but not remember where we parked the car!

  9. david watkinson says:

    No you are correct, a weed did get killed by the food delivery lorry imagine the fuss if that happened today , we would have all been made to wear reflective jackets, purchased at the school outfitters only Thompsons at london Bridge.At the time I apart from being told not to run around the corner from the new block nothing was said?, Was there from September 59 to Dec 1964 with my twin brother, when I went to RC then and asked if I could leave as I had been offered an apprenticeship, he smiled and said ” get out, ” such a lovely caring man, had a mirror by the chair so he could see our dear faces and know how much pain he was inflicting when caning you, any one else open their eyes, I did
    remember Basil and mad Sid Taylor, Rowdy Yates, Kirkby, jack Hawkins met him some years later in a dentists at Dulwich , lovely man, , fanny Robinson, Moon , Hunt, Renshaw , Peters, Anno domini Joe Davis , Hated the place, went back to the school a few years back and walked in the hall, still gave me the shivers, My wife said it was a scary place as well

  10. Steve Mann says:

    Glad I’m not imagining it. Was his name Kenny Ripper?? No,..Maybe not..
    Glad someone else hated it the place
    My first year was the bloody record freezing winter – was it ’63. Anyway, I was in the first intake from Orpington. Only a handful of us and you can imagine what the travelling was like!
    I also recall the smogs, when from the back of the hall you could hardly see Oaf at the front.
    I recall one day it took hours to get there, almost groping my way along Tooley Street, only to be sent straight home cos it was foo foggy! Spent all day on the flippin train/s..
    Anybody recall the lovely smells of alcohol from the various vintners or whatever under those arches??
    We all thought Oaf had a “Crown Topper”.. Any other opinions on that? Bloody funny hairdo if it was real.

  11. thebarrowboy says:

    I saw Kenny Ripper a few years back.

    My family worked on the docks so I was used to the smells and loved them.

    A couple of weeks ago, the new season of the police show New Tricks started in front of the school building in Tooley St.

  12. David Hollingworth says:

    I was there 60 to 67. I think the lad who messed up the organ playing was David “Mousy” Webber. Mark Shackleton got a similar reaction from Oafie when he fluffed the ending of the Last Post at a Remembrance Day service. Lots of bad memories of Stogs (the many thrashings, weeks of scavenging, Daily Report) but also some very funny ones. I still get a laugh out of the brilliant ordering system the kids had invented for school dinners – stodge everyfink, stodge only, fruit everyfink, fruit only, custard only. Same system for main course. Brilliant economy. I also enjoyed some classes roaring out the hymns at assembly in response to being told to sing louder. Sounded dreadful!

    Anyone know what happened to pervy Presswell – I heard some rumours he was sent down for interfering with little boys but I have no idea if that’s true.

  13. Steve Mann says:

    Howdy,
    Laws of defamation being what they are, I need to be careful what I say.
    Regarding “Arthur” Presswell – (Was his first name really Arthur?), I am 99 % certain that there was bit in the local paper in Orpington, whereby he was at least suspected of, if not charged with being what we all suspected. Say no more, wink wink etc… ad nauseam..
    Now that got me interested so I Gogled the bastard and got this.. Looks like it is him in the back row.. http://www.burtongrammar.co.uk/index.php?s=presswell
    Small world.
    What fun!
    There was another teacher suspected of being of a similar persuasion, still with the school when it moved to Orpington. Can’t remember the name but pretty sure he took maths.. sandy hair, fairly young, nasty piece of work, had a stupid grin most of the time. I will recall as soon as I log off! Can anyone help me out?

  14. Steve Mann says:

    Have just looked at the photos which did not open before!
    Send a shudder down my spine,..
    Couldn’t somebody blow the place up please?
    Do you think Oaf haunts the site?

  15. thebarrowboy says:

    Don’t remember who that was, Steve. I left in Dec 68, after one year in Orpington. I hope to go inside the Tooley St building next year, when it reopens as a hotel. Being in the Oaf’s office again (in 2010) was pretty spooky.

  16. David Hollingworth says:

    Maybe it was the German teacher Lynch – definitely creepy, sandy hair, also had that reputation.

  17. Steve Mann says:

    I think you may well be right! Yuk
    I too left after about a term or more in Orpington.
    I recall there was no swimming pool, just a large hole, which I suspected was for a mass gave..

  18. david watkinson says:

    Not sure that is the same Presswell as I remember him at STOGS in 1961, remember going to a colts rugby match on a coach from the school one Saturday morning and we all sang ” my name is Presswell I live in Leicester square song , he was not impressed when the coach driver burst out laughing!
    The strange things at that school, first years flogged for uttering one word during meal times ( yes I opened my mouth as he walked by once), had a tap of his magic wand for my trouble, not allowed to cycle to school even on a Saturday for detention,, Saturday morning detention, the cane if you were in the dreaded book twice and then had to get through 2 more weeks without getting another mention. oh happy days! I think not!

  19. David Hollingworth says:

    I’m pretty sure that picture is of Presswell, he was form teacher for the arts/humanities tutor group in the second year sixth so I can recall him quite clearly. He was generally loathed by all and sundry.

  20. david watkinson says:

    All I remember was that the Beatles ” she loves you ” was out as we sung it on the coach and Presswell was the teacher who took us to the game so that must have been 1963, as he did not teach me I have no idea when he came to the school, perhaps he came from there to STOGS ?
    One teacher i liked was Dudman ( physics teacher) one of the few down to earth teachers

  21. Mark Shackleton says:

    That’s definitely Preswell in the photo. The nickname (Elvis) is also a giveaway. Thanks for remembering my fluffed “Last Post”, Dave. I haven’t forgotten it either. What I find coming up time and time again in the responses is how much we all hated school. And that was largely due to the appalling atmosphere created by the Head. I can’t imagine what it was also like for decent teachers (Wiseman, Renshaw, Hawkins) to live under such a regime.

  22. David Hollingworth says:

    Hi Mark – quite a surprise to see your name! Are you still in Helsinki? I left Finland back in the 90’s and did a bit of globetrotting thereafter, settled in deepest Somerset now. My email is david.hollingworth6@googlemail.com if you want to get in touch and catch up

  23. Mark Shackleton says:

    There’s a 30-minute film of St. Olave’s made in 1962.
    See:
    https://www.londonsscreenarchives.org.uk/public/details.php?id=1059

    It’ll take you right back (for better or worse)

  24. thebarrowboy says:

    Thanks, Mark. It’s wonderful. I think I spotted you in Assembly.

  25. Steve Mann says:

    Eeeeeek. Just perused the video. Spotted Dodo, Oaf and Joe Davis. More than mortal Mann can take in one day.
    Going for a quiet lie down with a bottle of Jim Beam.

    Well done whoever found it, but it scared me.. This was my first year there if my math is correct, which it probably isn’t, given my education.

  26. thebarrowboy says:

    Hi, Steve. I’ve been in shock all morning! (I’m 7 hours behind Greenwich) Haven’t had time to watch it all but the first year at the front in Assembly is my year. I started there in Sept. 1961, so I reckon this is the first half of 1962. I spotted Phil Dibley, Unwin (?), Stevie Smith, Neil Morris, James Moffat… There are a lot of familiar faces I can’t put a name to.

  27. Steve Mann says:

    Dudman! Was he not the mad Australian? Taught maths. Evil b*****. Oh well, each to his own opinion.

    Hey! Does anybody remember Mr James? Ginger hair and we thought it might be James Robertson Justice moonlighting. He took music..had us practicing hymns then changed key halfway through – just for fun. Laugh? I thought my trousers would never dry. I think he fell out with Oaf for being too normal and got booted out. Always suspected he was fond of the old sauce..

    And there’s more. Remember Hurst? P.E. teacher. Very keen and had us doing circuit training and similar. Used to punish defaulters by making them hang upside-down on the wall bars. One fell off as I recall and there was a hell of a fuss, after which he vanished – back to the mother-ship presumably.

    Renshaw was fun. An Australian who knew more about English than most people ever will. Always recall him explaining how to pronounce “diphtheria”.. “The P is silent, as in bath”.. Took me about a week to get the joke.

    Ho hum…

  28. Steve Mann says:

    Where does that put you then? I’m cr*p at geography thanks to Dodo..

  29. thebarrowboy says:

    I was useless at most practical things, but especially PE and games, as I had been in hospital for a year with a hip problem and wasn’t allowed to even kick a ball for years. Being small and skinny I was, of course, singled out for “special” attention!

  30. Mark Shackleton says:

    My thanks to David Hollingworth for finding the film. Peter (Barrow Boy) – please email me – it would be good to get in contact with you and Alan Worrow (whose name he always reminded us was spelled the same going backward and forward).

  31. Mark Shackleton says:

    The Wit and Wisdom of STOGS Staff (1960s)

    R.C. Carrington (otherwise called Oaf – for the simple reason that is what he called boys who had supposedly done something wrong – like being born working class, perhaps?)
    I think this calls for a touch of the magic wand.
    If you were late for school, you had to recite by memory a poem. Carrington invariably set Shakespeare’s Sonnet “Tis better to be vile than vile esteemed”.

    Reggie Renshaw (English teacher, and generally dynamic character)
    I missed the English summer this year. I was in the toilet at the time.
    Mr (supply pupil’s name), you’ll go to hell.

    Fido Wright (RI teacher, who prided himself on being a punster.)
    “Tomorrow we’ll have a test. First we’ll put a Rip in it, and then the rest will go to Sleep”
    (Puns on two boys name: Ripper and Sleep.)

  32. DAVID WATKINSON says:

    You are right about the working class.my brother and I came from a primary school in the middle of a council estate in Battersea and the poltist thing he evet called was “gutter snipe whilst giving me 7 strokes of the magic wand.my heneous crime? Being found out on the balcony on the last morning of term at Christmas. He also made the whole form stay till 4 standing in the hall,boy was I popular! It was only the blood seeping through the seat of my trousers that Davidgained me sympathy from my fellow students. Oh happy days!

  33. thebarrowboy says:

    After two canings in the first year (one was the whole class), my Mum went to see the Oaf and told him that if he caned me again, she’d go and cane him! He never did touch me again.

  34. DAVID WATKINSON says:

    My Dad complained after having to peel my underpants off carefully as they were stuck on with blood. Oaf’s reply. “If you don’t like the way I run this school take your sons away!glad your Mum had some effect. Were you there when he got the 5th and 6th year to clean the school when the cleanets went on strike he suspended any boy who refused?

  35. thebarrowboy says:

    Don’t remember that one. I was so nervous in the first year they put me on pills. I didn’t remember the film at all but it’s a gem (in retrospect, probably not as they intended!).

  36. DAVID WATKINSON says:

    It was around 1963/4 I think I was in the 4th year Kirkby was the form master of 4q our form room was on the balcony midway along hence getting seen by the oaf or Arsey as we knew him by.

  37. thebarrowboy says:

    Kirkby was a name I’d forgotten. Last year I located Ariza, the Spanish teacher, who was my biggest influence (I went on to study languages). He just turned 80 and I hope to see him in Manchester later in the year. Didn’t see George Collins in the film (1C form master).

  38. DAVID WATKINSON says:

    I came across Arizas’name years ago.I bought a lingua phone record at a jumble sale and on the back was his picture (he had a goldfish looking face) it said he was head of languages at a top university in Madrid I belive, may be wrong.strange on my last day of that school Dec 1964 I took my tie off on the way out and he stopped me and told me I was to report to detention that afternoon. I pointed out politely that I was leaving that day and declined his invitation.I have to say those dsys were the wordt days of my life.when I started work I couldn’t get used to people calling me David after 4 years of Watkinson or Boy!

  39. thebarrowboy says:

    Yes, I have very mixed feelings about the experience. It paved the way for university (unthinkable in my family till then) but lots of negatives.

    Ariza hated it there and got out as soon as he could. Turns out he had to flee Spain for distributing anti-Franco leaflets. His dad was killed in the first months of the Civil War (never knew him) and his mum was thrown in jail. He told me he asked to speak to the Oaf before leaving to tell him what he thought of him.

  40. DAVID WATKINSON says:

    I am sure that there was some good people there .I met Basil Taylor my 1st year form master a couple of years after leaving in the street near Tower Bridge he asked how I was doing and wished me well.met Hawkings in a dentist in Dulwich in the eighties and he recognised me,again a nice man but at school it was just them and us.Fanny Robinson was the only teacher who showed compassion whilst I was there.Fido sent me to the Oaf for cheating in a test. Not true at all.it was 3.30 on.a Thursday the Oaf was out. Told to come back in the morning I got caned at 1.30 pm the next day.I went to his study at least 7 times expecting to be thrashed .She came and got me from lunch and said “come on this has gone on long enough still got 4 strokes after all that.now you know why I hated the place,these events although.now 54 years ago are still fresh in my mind

  41. thebarrowboy says:

    I understand perfectly, David. In my case, I think that repressing everything at school led to me flip out at university. I became very radical, lived in communes, and ended up wasting the opportunities I’d been given.

    I wish I could remember as much detail as you do. Too much is hazy.

  42. DAVID WATKINSON says:

    After leaving and a brief spell at a printers I worked for London Transport for 26 years and had a good career in engineering. Whilst working at Peckham garage who ran the 78 route I was amazed ti be told that the worst behaved school gor damage.ie slashed seats etc was St Olaves so all that repression came out other ways

  43. thebarrowboy says:

    Wow!

  44. DAVID WATKINSON says:

    I gather you were a local lad? the only local lads I remember are Martin Hampson, asked to leave after trashing a class room one evening, we all had to have our shoes taken away for footprint checks as some were left in spilt ink) and Carl Ward, Ward’s dad was a school caretaker locally so he lived in a school, Reg Sturt and Alan Penryn from Elephant and Castle, Alan was very advanced physically and very good at rugby being so strong for his age, good swimmer as well. and another boy called Clark , I bumped into a old boy near Scotland Yard in the early 70’s the name of Barry Balsh , a quiet inoffensive boy who was in the murder squad and had done two years on the beat at the Elephant, there was two brothers the Browns, one was in the 5th form when we were in the third, they both went on to have careers in the Met Only other old boy I have met was Kenny Mckintire who was working as a mechanic at Bexley heath garage when I managed there, no one else in years, looking back there are few that I would want to meet again, .It has been good conversing with you, we must do it again sometime, for now good bye.

  45. thebarrowboy says:

    Yes, I was born and lived in Long Lane. Walked to school. There were plenty of local kids in my year (started in 61). All the best, David.

  46. Mark Shackleton says:

    I remember Barry Balsh? Walsh? . As you say, mild-mannered, and good- natured. I remember we said at the time that he’d make a damn good (fair, decent) copper.

  47. David Hollingworth says:

    Barry Baulch. He was friends with Kevin Hall and me after we keft school. He used to tell terrible (hopefully tall) stories about life in the Met at the Elephant. The ginger haired music teacher mentioned in an earlier post was a really nice guy – I remember him playing brilliant boogie-woogie piano for us in one music lesson. About the only other interesting thing for me in that class was the “lives of the great composers” book we had to read. One of the lads had crossed out the word Ludwig from one the chapter titles so it read Bread van Beethoven – still makes me grin at the thought.

  48. Steve Mann says:

    I remember Baulch. nice quiet guy. The register went Adams, Baulch, Beaver etc..
    Seem to remember Kirby was known as “Killer – no idea why.
    Also recall a pupil in my class named Robin Hoodleader, (might have been hyphenated). The surname, oops, sorry, family name is strange enough, but “Robin”.. He was very bright and got off the train at either Elmstead Woods or Chislehurst.. Nice chap. Anybody know what happened to him?

  49. DAVID WATKINSON says:

    The Oaf under the guise of Sheriff of Dulwich expelled him for being a thief, liar and a guttersnipe to boot!

  50. Hi All Just found this site after all this time. Got whacked three times for throwing snowballs at the monitors and four times for leaving Saturday detention via the front door (messed up the brasswork appearently!!) Worst thing of all was trying to keep wicket to Hollie’s bowling playing for the seconds – that was a nightmare!!!!
    Press well and his little “punishments” – arms out for the whole period and Lynch – form master in my third year – was very creepy. Had a laugh that tear when Roger Goldsmith was caught playing boogie-woogie by Oaf – hilarious
    Checked the old film briefly, some other names were Alan Reynolds, Keith St Aubyn, Steve Smith, Barry Thurnell, Alan Alltimes – some I did not see – Jeff Baggott, Dave Williams, Roger Leggitt, Paul Ridgewell, Tom Rogers et al

  51. Philip Rusling says:

    I too remember A. Presswell, although I remember him from Lincoln School, and recognized him from the Burton Grammar photograph. His favourite punishment was to force pupils to lie back over a sloping desk and then tickle them. He did not last long there either, although you can imagine what it was like having him as a house master in a boarding school. He was just quietly moved on. When one thinks about all the paedophile scandals now besetting the Church, one cannot but observe that all institutions respond in the same way and try to hush such occurrences.

  52. David Hollingworth says:

    Reg Renshaw was a really good guy and clearly despised a lot of the Oaf-instituted crap. One of my favourite memories of him was an occasion when someone coughed during an assembly and Oafie reacted by demanding (in his usual polite manner) that the perpetrator should get out. Everyone was amazed when Renshaw immediately strode out the hall, ignoring Oafie’s protestations. It was delightful, perhaps even more so because we had to suppress our sniggers.

  53. Steve Mann says:

    That rings a bell. What year approx?

  54. You are right about Reggie. I recall coming back on the coach from Gravesend after a cricket match on a blazing summer day at about seven o’clock. He pulled the coach over at a pub and bought us all a cold light ale, only the one, we would have been 15/16 years old
    He just said something like that if we acted as men, we would be treated as men. Priceless, and, because he treated us like actual human beings we never gave him any trouble in school – well, not much anyway!

  55. David Hollingworth says:

    Not really sure when the Renshaw walkout occurred. I would hazard a guess (based on my memory of where I was standing in the hall) that it was sometime around 64 or 65.

  56. I really don’t remember, or want to remember much of this ………… not brilliant memories at all BUT I’d like to re-make acquaintances with any of you guys ……… I only ever went to the single reunion dinner. That was enough for me.

    I was in my last year ( the first year of the new school ) at Orpington and the boy with a car of my own and absolutely forbidden to park in an otherwise empty ( almost ) school carpark.

    Guess I might have been a bit of a rebel but only got caught and caned the once.

    I like seeing these photos and reminisce ( a bit )
    well done you guys for keeping in touch here, maybe it’s an age related thing, re-visiting one’s youth before shuffling off this mortal coil !

  57. thebarrowboy says:

    Hi, Malcolm. I have very mixed feelings about Stogs but going to the school did have a huge impact on my life. My last year was also the first in Orpington.

  58. HI Malcomb if you remember the strange segregation at Tower Bridge wearing caps until getting in the 6th year, cannot use this entrance,first years only not allowed to talk at mealtime etc your car experience is par for the course

  59. Steve Mann says:

    Funny thing about the caps.
    Having reached the appointed time, three of us sneaked out one lunchtime, (a hanging offence if my memory serves me correctly), and chucked ours into the Thames. Watched them float off into infinity.. That was a good day amidst the horrible memories of STOGS..

  60. You know, I cannot help but feel that making us put up with all that crap was part of the plan. I do know that in my personal/work life (and I was one of the very working class local boys from Lambeth) I have had to mix with all social classes and those years at STOGS seem to have equipped me for it. I seemed to have obtained the ability to manage both downward AND upward!! It also might well be that Malcolm is right, we are looking back with fondness while we have the chance. By way I was a 1961 starter, in Boggie’s 1B, think Malcolm was same year but 1C (with Collins (?) and Peter 1C (or with Basil in 1A???). I was good mates with Tom Rogers who I sat next to on my first day, we stayed mates until I left in 1967 and then lost touch soon after

  61. I remember your name at least Ray, and that of Tom Rogers too.
    George Collins it was lots of other names now spring to mind.
    Seeing those OAP ladies from Bermondsey in the Afternoon Tea scenes, jeez how social styles have changed, I guess in the 60’s they were just war widows from some 20 years prior !
    We are so lucky to have emerged unscathed from that time onwwards.
    Remember La Spezia cafe under the arches near to Thompson’s school shop at London Bridge station too, sometimes used to congregate there.
    The memories seem to be flooding back AND yes, the education at STOGS probably has made me a bit different from a lot of my generation.
    In my business life, emerging from a real working class south London background to being at ease with all social standings and right from the age of early 20’s through to now … so it probably did me some good …. or maybe it’s in my genes anyway eh !

    I sometimes have trouble linking through on here …. my email is malcolmglb@gmail.com and I live in ME11 postcode in Kent if any of you wanted to think about a coffee or summat.

  62. Steve Mann says:

    “George” Collins was definitely 1C.. Bless him. Decent chap. 1C was also the start of the Spanish set. Much as i disliked “Rizla”, he did make me learn the lingo. Now I have a small place in the Costa Blanca and can still manage to get by with the lingo. Spooky how it comes back..

  63. thebarrowboy says:

    I found Mr Ariza through the Internet. He is 80 and lives up north. As I’ve spent most of my adult life in Spanish-speaking countries, it’s been interesting interacting with him. He hated Carrington and told him what he thought of him before he left.

  64. thebarrowboy says:

    I remember the café very well. For some reason t made me think of Keith Harrison, who was ahead of us but also studied Spanish all the way through to university. He converted to Catholicism and took up the religious life. He seems to have been the Provost at Brompton Oratorio and now at Birmingham Oratory.

  65. DAVID WATKINSON says:

    Felt the same in 1A with Basil Taylor regarding french with Mr Peters, he may have been talking martian for all the good french was going to be to me back then, never envisaged visiting the country, now I have been numerous times on holiday and still do some work over there maintaining old London Buses ( another story) I was surprised how quickly the 3 years I studied came back, My identical twin brother who also was at STOGS has lived there for 12 years now and is nearly fluent

  66. hahahaha…… and Latin ?? I thought it was quite useless then ( failed O Level grade 9 I think ) remember ut and te ( or is that Spanish ! ) and apart from trying to decipher some medical stuff and plant names I sadly, I guess, still think it a waste of my time, some 4 years study was it to O Levels ?

    Spanish though, well, I had a great surprise when I went to Argentina the first time in about 1989 trekking in the Andes and suddenly found myself faced with a 5 year old lad in a village cafe and he started speaking to me and hey, wowee, I could understand him and maybe, just maybe, he could understand me too.
    That was the only time I used my Spanish from school. some 25 years earlier.

    Blimey, don’t I digress, sorry guys

  67. thebarrowboy says:

    That’s quite amazing, actually, that you remembered enough to engage in conversation after all those years.

  68. I remember the Spazz Bar so well, frothy coffee in plain clear cups and “Russian Tea” with a slice of lemon – so posh. One of the leader rebels about that time was Phil Josling – there’s a name from the past. Also Dave, as I was a close friend of Alan Alltimes, I also went to the Devas Boys Club in your homeland – that was a good place at the time
    As for Latin, amo amas amat was as far as I got. Strange thing is with the German (that would be 1B) is I now work for a small German bank and some of it still comes is useful – although I still say Lynch should have been a youth football trainer!!!!!
    Another memory was when Peter Hamilton was being bullied by a big fat bloke who had been held back in the 4th – blond guy, cannot remember his name, so he was a year older. Jeff Baggott (another name) from our year tugged him and gave him a spank – that was just so good!

  69. I lived just across the road from the Devas club went to cubs and scouts there Chips Blackburn and his wife ran the scouts,don’t know about the boys club,there was mainly boxing in the gym on the top floor Alan Altimeter was a year behind us he lived across the other side of the Patmore Estate, we used to travel to school together on the 44 bus from the Dogs home

  70. I knew his Mum and Dad (Harry and Flo) really well and I joined a football club where he was playing when I was 16 – Angell Athletic, based on a pub on what is now Angell Estate in Brixton. Best thing I ever did, played for them for nearly 14 years (great set of blokes) even though I had committed the sin of moving across the water to Essex by then. My brother lives in Sidcup and still sees Alan around .
    By the way the big fat bloke was Rod Walker from your year – a bully with a vicar for a Dad – now that should be an oxymoron but wasn’t in this case

  71. I remember Alan,s Dad well,he was a tube train driver and used to take us to football at Battersea Park when we all went to St James Barrie in his car I remember Walker, his Father was the Bishop of Woolwich! I had a fight with him once,nasty boy, always fighting someone lost touch with Alan, does he live in Sidcup? I spent most of my misspent youth there and still have relatives there,still go there once a month

  72. Just googled bishop of Woolwich, certainly not Walker

  73. I remember Rod Walker too, a brute of a boy who tried to terrorize so many, he even tried it on with a friend of mine ( wonder who that was ? ) and I ” called him out ” one day and he chickened and wanted to be best pals …….. ugh !

    I forgot amo amas amat but I do remember the daft notion of having to do O Level German, in the 6th was it, as a supplementary subject for a single year …… bonkers, I failed that too Grade 9.

    Phil Josling I remember too, a great pal at the time … wonder what happened to him.

  74. Interesting guy in our year ? . just trawling through google stuff for St. Olaves and come across Godfrey Bloom on wikipedia, take a look, I remember him a little now …………..

  75. Yep Dave, he still lives somewhere around there. Here’s another one for you Malcolm – John Lowden, he was in 1C and was a Millwall supporter, just like me. I remember we went straight to Spurs from Tooley St. for an FA cup replay. Lost 1-0 to a Jimmy Greaves goal! Others I knocked around with then, as well as Tom Rogers and Jeff Baggott, were Micky Laws, Terry Montgomery, Alan Reynolds, Jim Cooper, Paul Ridgewell and three who came from my primary school – Dave Williams, Keith St Aubyn and Roger Leggitt. God, this really is a walk down memory lane, they must have all scattered to the wind
    And just for the record I did German for five years and got the lowest grade possible. I always remember being told that I would need this phrase for the oral part – “Ich habe Sie nicht verstanden” ( I have not understood you). It is the only bit I really remember now – if only they could have taught all the other stuff like they did that bit then I would have been a German wizard!!!!

  76. I only scored one try for the rugby team, against Beckenham Grammar, and had the dubious honour of being pushed over the try line from a loose scrum by the one and only ex UKIP member. We used to call him Goff as I recall, he was a bit of a Hooray Henry then and does not seemed to have changed!!

  77. I remember all those names except Jim Cooper, was there a guy called Lucas who had sibling(s) at the school too ? a guy called Vosper who I trained in with from Nunhead for many years ……….and Micky Laws ….did he come from a prep school as a late starter, not with the usual year intake. And one or two others similarly. And a guy called Donovan who’s family had a business ( paper bags ) ? the name of which you could see on the train approach into London Bridge station.
    And my Best Man at my first wedding in 1971, Barry Barker who had an elder brother at the school ( I think )

    Jeez, this is a memory fest !

  78. John Donovan (played in goal for Lewisham area under 11’s), his mate Chris Duberry. I remember ginger Graham(?) Vosper. You are right about ML – but his Mum remarried and he is now a Briggs – I played football against him around 1973, he was captain of opposing team and you should have seen our faces when I went to toss up. Jim was a mate of Tom Rogers, think same primary school, another good playground tennis ball footballer. Trevor Morris and Jim Moffatt have also jumped into my memory. By way old Godfrey Bloom was very good mates with Paul Deeks and John Davis if that helps the memory
    I have had three best men in my life, on current no.3 Mrs Salthouse!!!!!!

  79. Paul Deeks,a redhead ? did he have a brother who was School Captain too.
    another in our year named ….. Scadeng ?

  80. He did have red hair but no, that was Nigel Jacks, captain in our first year; his younger brother Digby was also there. I know who you mean re “Scadeng” – dark hair and glasses, gentle character, an Ian I think, but the surname…………Scalding???
    Am going off line now, away for a week visiting family and will not access the site. Cheers

  81. did any of you guys join me for the skiing trip to the hostel in Zermatt the Dec / January of 1965/66 ? I think it was then

  82. Michael O'Keeffe says:

    Mick O’Keeffe Resident of St Ollies 55-59. We also had our fair share of poufs and snotty-nosed pricks as teachers back in the 50s. What caught my eye was the ” Barrow-boy ” mantle. I was originally from the City of London but in 55 I lived in Rotherhithe ( after that New Cross in 57 ) On one of my more cordial exchanges with the dude with the funny hair-doo as I remember him : Herr Doktor Bass Charrington, I had been caught out over a misunderstanding and had to go up to his room for punishment, unfortunately for the old sadist, the other boys father had said no corporal punishment, so to make up for this, as I walked into the room, he hurled himself at me, grabbed my shirt and jacket, buttons popping, stuck his face into my mouth and screamed ” You filthy little barrow-boy “. I thought that made him a wonderful human-being. I met him once in 64, we’d both just got off the same train at Charring Cross, I saw him in front of me, a derelict old buzzard, for a second I had the burning urge to shove him onto the lines, then I thought what a pathetic old loser he is, not even worth it. I spoke to him : I was at St Olaves in the 50s, you axed me in 59. His face went like one of the German guards at a camp in 45. Stupid old fool. No wonder his wife left him. In 71 shortly after UK went decimalization and the price of a pint kept going up every 15 minutes I moved to British Columbia. Geoff ( Wally ) Worham keeps in touch regularly. I worked in the tour operating industry ( in the 60s ) in UK, and for 40 years in the Record business in Canada ( before it went belly-up ). I never broke into a sweat once in 50 years. My sons always ask me : How comes we cant get cushy numbers like you always had. My reply : Its merely Gods way of saying he was sorry that I spent four years before the mast at St Ollies. Roy ( Marsden ) Mold the actor and Martin Carthy the folk singer were also resident during the same period.

  83. thebarrowboy says:

    RCC certainly had a long history of doing what he did best! Apparently his dream was to be the Head of Dulwich College and he was very frustrated because he couldn’t get the job.

    I knew about Roy Marsden but don’t think I’d heard about Martin Carthy. I believe Mardsen bought a flat on the river in one of the refurbished warehouses.

    Thanks for the comment. All the best, Peter

  84. Chris Harris says:

    Chris Harris (1970-77) – current Chairman of the Old Olavians Society.

    I have no connection with Tooley Street apart from a couple of tours of the premises and the stories told by Tooley Street boys.

    Most of the contributors to your page Barrow Boy seem to have attended the school in the late 50s or early 60s, and some of the masters are familiar to me.

    The Society still has an annual reunion, and all Old Olavians are welcome. In September 2017 it will be a lunch at the school and the guest speaker, replying to the Headmaster’s toast to the Society will be Mr Des Swinburne, who I am guessing nearly all contributors before me will know, as he joined the school in 1957.

    If any one wants more details as they become available, email me at chair@oldolavians.net, and take a look at our Facebook page.

    I look forward to hearing from you, and one day meeting you.

    Chris Harris

    PS The hotel in the old school premises is opening in Feb 2017, I think.

  85. Steve Mann says:

    Thank you.
    I sincerely hope it all goes well for you who seem to have come through unscathed.
    My abiding memory of “Des” is when he lost his temper, picked me up by my lapels and shook me so violently that it tore my clothing.. Didn’t do much for my somewhat fragile ego either. Dr Phibes incarnate. All this because I was making a noise outside the music room door, (Tooley Street).
    I hope you all have a great time. Me, I’d rather stick pins in my eyes..

  86. Geoff Worham says:

    If I were to write all I loathed about STOGS 55 – 60 it would take up too much space. However although nothing to do with me here are just three I think are worth mentioning.
    An older friend of mine Rodney Mills after leaving school got his first job in the bank opposite the school. The school banked there and soon after his arrival as a very junior clerk who should come in but the OAF himself. On seeing Rodney he demanded to see the bank manager and informed him that he had an undesirable working in the bank.Rodney was moved to another branch and fortunately not sacked.
    Another boy by the name of Harvey Sambrook after leaving school went back to ask for a reference from the OAF. RCC asked him to come in to his office and said that he would be delighted to do it. He wrote “The very blood in this boys veins is a lie” passed it to him and bid him farewell.
    My final point is “What actually happened in the dark room when Fido Wright was running the photographic club?”
    My e mail is Geoffxx@hotmail.co.uk if anybody would like to get in touch with me for a chat or a beer.

  87. I was on the Zermatt trip Malcolm – best thing that happened to me at the school. I really enjoyed it, especially the snowball fight we had with the Germans at the hostel we stayed in; we had the upper ground and gave them another good thrashing. As for skiing, well, you either love it or couldn’t handle it – I was the latter!!!!!

  88. I remember that trip just a little ….. my parents had a helluva job paying for it then, about £100 I think ! We travelled by train to Folkestone Harbour then the ferry across from there and I remember the interchange at Basel . not much of the journey after that . I tried skiing but was a dead loss too …….. hahahahaha, I never tried since. I remember Biba’s Boutique shop in the town ( Zermatt ), a London icon in those days too.
    I have been back to Zermatt but not for any particular reason other than another place to visit.

  89. Actual cost of holiday was about £36!!!! but you had to have all the clothes as well. My parents struggled as well but school gave ideas to make it as cheap as possible like water-proofing jeans instead of proper trousers. Just to put £36 into perspective I left school that August and started with Westminster Bank and £36 was more than a months pay – about the price of a round of drinks now!!!!!

  90. Malcolm Bennett says:

    has this now finished ??

  91. Steve Mann says:

    Seeing the photos and remembering STOGS, I expect everyone has run screaming for the hills…

  92. Robin Wicks says:

    I’m very surprised to read the level of disdain that most here seem to have for their time at STOGS. I was there from 64-70, just over two years in Tooley Street and the rest in Orpington. I remember most of the teachers mentioned above, and was there for the last few years of RCC’s reign. I have very fond memories of my time there, it was full of characters and definitely the end of an era. But it was a good school, and I feel privileged to have attended.

  93. Chris Harris says:

    Good or bad, it is a shared experience. Why not come along to the Old Olavians reunion and reminisce. One of the masters from Tooley St is the guest speaker this year.
    The date 16th September.
    The venue is the school in Orpington.
    You don’t have to be a subscription member.
    Details can be downloaded from the front page of Oldolavians.net

  94. stranger and pilgrim says:

    Hi, Chris. I’m in Orpington taking care of my Mum. Unfortunately, I return home on Sept. 15, otherwise I would have loved to have seen Swinburne. He left my first year form unattended for a while in the music room, the Oaf cam by and caned the whole class! If memory serves me right, Des was very handy with a plimsoll. It was another world, of course. Peter

  95. Mick O'Keeffe says:

    Looking at my comment from last December, I notice that I got a date mixed up. I met RCC at Charing Cross in 69. In 64 I bumped into Leonard ( Benny ) Hill in Victoria, he was still as flamboyant as ever. His place was just round the corner in Pimlico and he invited me over for lunch. He was OK, so was Len Speirs, who supposedly was in the French resistance during WW2. I think it comes with the turf to kvetch about ones old school. I remember the actor, Robert Morley, on one occasion talking about his school, Wellington, he said : If I did have a reason to go back to that place, it would only be to burn the building down. On the plus side that school is a handy tool to have when putting someone down over here. When I happen to say : Founded in 1571 and John Harvard a pupil back in the early 1600s, it usually shuts them up.

  96. Chris Harris says:

    Hello Peter
    What a shame you can’t be there. Would Des Swinburn remember you? I could say hello for you!
    Have you checked out the photos of the Tooley St buildings on our Facebook page (The Old Olavians Society), now that the conversion to a hotel is complete? All of the Old Boys who visited had quite a few stories once we were inside the Oaf’s study, which has been transformed into a beautiful suite.
    If you, or anyone, wants more details of the lunch, or just wants to keep in touch, email me at chair@oldolavians.net.
    Chris

  97. Malcolm Bennett says:

    hey, today’s Saturday Daily Mail 15th. July 2017 …….. a small colour picture of the Old School in Tooley Street with the new blocks of apartments at the back ……. a review of it as the hotel it is now …………….. BUT the best colour picture I’ve ever seen of the Old School
    Malc

  98. stranger and pilgrim says:

    Thanks for the heads up, Malcolm, I’ll have to try to get hold of a copy.

Leave a Reply

