More old London

These are more old photos of London that I picked up on my travels. The first is of dockland in the era of sailing ships.

And this one is of County Hall (next to where the London Eye now stands)

and Westminster bridge in the era of trams.

This entry was posted in My journey, Odds and Ends. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More old London

  1. Jeannette Pathuis-Heijligers says:

    Dear Barrow Boy,

    I liked Your photograph of the london Docks. At the moment I am working on my very own annotated translation of Bram Stoker’s novel “Dracula”. In chapter 24 Van Halsing and his friends visit the ahrhour of London, to find which ship the Count has taken to leave the country. Please may I use Your Photograph to illustrate my information about the London Docks with?

    Kind regards,

    Jeannette Pathuis-Heijligers.

  2. thebarrowboy says:

    Hi, Jeannette. The photo is taken from a postcard I bought in London, so I don’t own the copyright. Best regards, Peter

  3. execelsior says:

    Great stuff Barrow Boy – I too wandered a long way from home – my father came from South London and was brought up in Camberwell and used to rave about the Elephant when it WAS the Elephant! I come from Bethnal Green like my mother and despite education and living abroad, I am STILL an East End boy. You might enjoy my websites:

    EAST END MEMORIES @ http://www.eastend-memories.org

    and

    LONDON TALES @ http://cspj-londontales.blogspot.com

    (www.facebook.com/storiesoflondon)

    How about posting some more stuff? I would appreciate it.

    Cheers.

    Charles.

  4. thebarrowboy says:

    Hi, Charles. Things have just been too hectic to do more on the blog. Maybe farther down the road- I’ll certainly be checking out your blogs.

Leave a Reply

