Fish & Chips

Today’s Guardian contained an article about the fish and chip shops chosen as the best in Britain (awards are given every year). I loved this 1935 photo of a fish and chip van.

fish-and-chips-1935-001

This year there were no winners in the London area but they did recommend Fryer’s Delight, near Gray’s Inn (Rumpole country). I shall have to try to get there the next time I’m in London.

This entry was posted in Odds and Ends. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fish & Chips

  1. Alan Worrow says:

    Peter, I thought the article was somewhat precious. However, I can endorse the Fryer’s delight…it’s quite a while since I was there.

  2. thebarrowboy says:

    Hi, Alan. I know what you mean. I was really taken with the photo, though.

    I must say the fish and chips I had while I was there last year was pretty awful.

Leave a Reply

