The trains in Spain race swiftly across the plain

Like most countries, Spain succumbed to the motor car a long time ago. Unlike, Britain, however, it did not give up long-distance travel by rail for travel by coach [bus].

Forty years ago, the rail network in Spain was very poor and the country backward by European standards. To visitors, that was one of its attractions, however.  I once spent 20 hours on a train from Madrid to Barcelona, trying to sleep on newspaper on the floor of the corridor.

How times have changed. The Guardian has an article about Spain’s new high-speed AVE trains. I understand the enthusiasm for these trains completely, especially as air travel has become such a nightmare.

AVE-train-in-the-Spanish--001

This entry was posted in Spain. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The trains in Spain race swiftly across the plain

  1. Christo says:

    I couldn’t agree more! Spain is (surprisingly to many?) one of the leaders now, and I read of their plans to keep developing what they hope will be the most efficient network in Europe – we have something to learn in the UK I think…

  2. George says:

    In the mid nineties I lived and worked Paris and I often traveled on the fantastic high speed TGV. Two years ago I visited Japan for a period of two months during that time I managed to traverse the country in just about every direction, all the travel took place on the various models of the fabulous Shinkansen high speed trains. I now live in Madrid and whenever I have to go somewhere I try to go by train, perhaps it is something in my blood. From my personal train travel experiences I think that the AVE is perhaps the best high speed train I have ever been on; furthermore, it has one thing that no other train in the world has: a full refund of your ticket if the AVE is more than five minutes late, something that for obvious business reasons very rarely happens.

  3. Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

    I’m Out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

