The old school magazines give a real sense of the school as it was in the 1960s. This is the oldest one I have been able to scan. I have had to upload the images in quite a large size to make them legible. In February 1964, I was about half way through my third year. A visit to the Geffrye Museum is described on pages 14-15. It was during that visit that I posed for the photo in Victorian garb that I posted at the start of the blog. Page 17 contains an article entitled Selecting a Prime Minister. Curiously, I have just watched David Cameron entering No. 10 Downing Street as Britain’s new Prime Minister, following five days of horse-trading by the three major parties. Pages 17-19 contain a description of the planned new school building, in Orpington, which I visited today for the first time since I left in December 1968. The Head’s comments on the new school and modern languages are also very interesting. I also enjoyed the reference to the Beatles on page 21.


